About Us

Ripley County Ambulance District In 1985, under 190.015 RSMo, the residents of Ripley County Missouri voted in favor of offically forming Ripley County Ambulance District. The District is organized as a political subdivision under 190.010 RSMo. From 1985 until 2007 the District collaborated with various entities to provide ambulance services to the residents and visitors of Ripley County. April of 2007 brought changes to the District as the Board of Directors voted to operate the District on it's own and hired appropriate personnel to manage and staff the District's ambulances.

The District is comprised of the majority of Ripley County Missouri, except for the southeast corner which is operated by Medic One located in Naylor, Missouri. Taxes are levied on all property owners within the District to subsidize the operating costs that the District incurs. The service area is divided into six sub-dustricts, with each electing a citizen to serve on the Board of Directors for a period of three years. The terms are staggered so that only two positions are open for election each year. Board meetings are held on the third Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the District's headquarters located at 1003 Walnut Street in Doniphan, Missouri.

The District's base is located in City of Doniphan, which sits on the banks of the beautiful Current River, a popular attraction for locals and those from surrounding areas. The District serves a population of 14,000 people, covering an area of 632 square miles. Normal operations are provided by two Advance Life Support Crews , 24 hours a day, with a third crew available as needed. These crews respond to an average 2000 calls for assistance annually, with over 1600 people being transported to nearby medical facilities in Poplar Bluff, Mo and Pocahontas, Ark.